Nakagami celebrates his new Honda contract by leading Friday practice for the Teruel MotoGP, the second of the back-to-back Aragon rounds.

Team-mate Crutchlow came close to an LCR one-two, but was demoted to third by a late lap from Vinales.

A nightmare session for the Ducatis saw the Desmosedicis all outside the top 13, although most of them did not fit a new rear tyre at the end, nor did KTM's Espargaro.

Honda's led both sessions with Repsol's Marquez quickest in FP1, but only 10th in FP2. Marquez and Miller were the only riders to lap slower in FP2.

Valentino Rossi is missing his second event after last week's positive Covid test and has not been replaced.

HRC test rider Bradl is again replacing injured reigning world champion Marc Marquez.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Teruel MotoGP, Aragon - Free Practice (2) Results
Pos RiderNatTeamTime/DiffLapMax
1^1Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)1'47.782s17/18346k
2^4Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.175s18/18345k
3^7Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.329s17/18347k
4^13Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.382s18/18343k
5˅2Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.400s17/20341k
6^6Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.408s18/19343k
7^8Iker LecuonaSPARed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+0.578s17/18345k
8=Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+0.644s14/15342k
9=Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.657s11/18342k
10˅9Alex MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)*+0.661s18/19343k
11˅7Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.662s17/19345k
12^1Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+0.745s18/19343k
13˅2Johann ZarcoFRAReale Avintia (GP19)+0.750s16/17346k
14^5Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)*+0.763s18/19345k
15˅10Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.830s4/20341k
16^2Bradley SmithGBRAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+1.028s19/19340k
17˅3Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP20)+1.088s18/19344k
18˅2Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP20)+1.458s14/16352k
19^2Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP20)+1.537s8/18347k
20=Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia (GP19)+1.951s18/20342k
21˅14Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP20)+2.012s9/16345k

^X Rider is X positions higher than FP1.
= Rider is same position as FP1.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than FP1.

Combined Practice Times:
1Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)
2Maverick VinalesESPMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)
3Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)
4Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)
5Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)
6Alex MarquezESPRepsol Honda (RC213V)*
7Alex RinsESPSuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)
8Iker LecuonaESPRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*
9Aleix EspargaroESPFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)
10Pol EspargaroESPRed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)
11Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)
12Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)
13Johann ZarcoFRAReale Avintia Ducati (GP19)
14Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)*
15Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)
16Bradley SmithGBRFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)
17Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP20)
18Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP20)
19Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP20)
20Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP20)
21Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia Ducati (GP19)

* Rookie.
Official Aragon MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda1m 46.635s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha1m 48.120s (2015)

By Peter McLaren


Loading Comments...