Formula 1 has confirmed that the Portuguese Grand Prix will fill the vacant slot on the 2021 calendar in May.

Portimao was expected to complete F1’s 23-round schedule by hosting the ‘TBC’ third round of the season on 2 May after the championship announced back in February its intention to return to the Algarve Circuit this year.

With its place on the calendar now rubber-stamped, Portugal will form a back-to-back with the Spanish Grand Prix, which follows on 9 May.

F1 returned to Portugal for the first time in 25 years last October as Portimao hosted its first-ever grand prix, which was won by Lewis Hamilton, who claimed a record-breaking 92nd career grand prix.

The Algarve venue joins Imola in returning to the F1 calendar for this year, having staged a round on the revised 2020 schedule. 27,000 fans attended the 2020 Portuguese Grand Prix and both venues once again hope to welcome spectators this year.

“We are thrilled to announce that Formula 1 will be racing again in Portimao after the huge success of the race last year,” said Stefano Domenicali, President and CEO of Formula 1.

“We want to thank the promoter and the Portuguese Government for their hard work and dedication in getting us to this point. We are confident and excited about our 2021 season, having shown last year that we could deliver 17 races safely and bring our millions of fans thrilling racing at a difficult time.

“We hope to welcome fans to Portimao again this season in a safe way and are working with the promoter on the details of that plan.”

Following pre-season testing next week on 12-14 March, the 2021 F1 season will begin with the Bahrain Grand Prix on March 28.

2021 Formula 1 Race Calendar
Bahrain GP (Sakhir)March 28
Emilia Romagna GP (Imola)April 18
Portuguese GP (Portimao)May 2
Spanish GP (Barcelona)May 9
Monaco GP (Monte Carlo)May 23
Azerbaijan GP (Baku)June 6
Canadian GP (Montreal)June 13
French GP (Paul Ricard)June 27
Austrian GP (Spielberg)July 4
British GP (Silverstone)July 18
Hungarian GP (Budapest)August 1
Belgian GP (Spa)August 29
Dutch GP (Zandvoort)September 5
Italian GP (Monza)September 12
Russian GP (Sochi)September 26
Singapore GP (Marina Bay)October 3
Japanese GP (Suzuka)October 10
United States GP (Austin)October 24
Mexican GP (Mexico City)October 31
Sao Paulo GP (Interlagos)November 7
Australian GP (Melbourne)November 21
Saudi Arabian GP (Jeddah)December 5
Abu Dhabi GP (Yas Marina)December 12