Thruxton BSB - Free Practice Results (1)

Peter Hickman hit the ground running in fine style at Thruxton as he topped timesheets in first free practice by a dominant margin, ahead round seven for the Bennetts British Superbike Championship.

The TT Superbike winner well 0.7secs up on his nearest rivals at the end of the session after unseating Dan Linfoot in the closing stages, Hickman showing well around the circuit he notched up his maiden BSB podium in 2011.

His time of 1m 15.234secs was well clear of second place man Jason O’Halloran on the McAMS Yamaha the only other rider to sneak into the 1m 15s – albeit by only 0.001secs – while Christian Iddon made it a strong start to the weekend for the BMW contingent in third.

Linfoot slipped to fourth having diced towards the top of the timesheets throughout the session, with Josh Brookes – the best-placed of the riders who are all-but-certain to make the Title Showdown – coming in fifth.

Luke Mossey was the top Suzuki rider on the OMG Racing machine in sixth, with Hickman’s Smiths BMW team-mate James Ellison seventh and Tommy Bridewell in eight place.

Turning his first laps at Thruxton today, BSB series leader enjoyed a trouble-free taste of the UK’s fastest circuit but could only manage 14th fastest, 1.6secs off Hickman’s best lap.

Making his first appearance as a Tyco BMW rider following his split with Quattro Plant JG Speedfit Kawasaki, Glenn Irwin was a solid 15th quickest



Loading Comments...